Launch in new window

DJ's Choice

You are here

Coldcut Solid Steel: Saturday December 2, 2017

Our guest in Hour 1 is Walton who dropped his third instalment on Tectonic Recordings last month, calling upon Japanese influences where Asian instrumentation meets head to head with the cutting edge sounds of a UK grime-techno axis. The Manchester based producer has also released an album and 12's on Hyperdub, and in his mix unloads a pile of unreleased tracks from the likes of Rabit, Pinch, Lamont, Commodo, Ishan Sound x Hodge, Lowquid, Compa, Boofy and DJ Sinclair. He told us;
"The mix is a showcase of music I’m really into at the moment and also a good example of what to expect from me in the club."
In Hour 2 we welcome  Moscow-based Dmitry Evgrafov who began self-releasing his music at the age of seventeen. In 2015, the young pianist / composer signed to FatCat’s 130701 imprint, releasing the album ‘Collage’, followed by a seven-track EP, ‘The Quiet Observation’, a year later. A further year on, his latest release ‘Comprehension Of Light’ album marks a sizeable step forward for Dmitry, witnessing an increased maturity in his writing alongside an expanded breadth of palette and will sit comfortably alongside 130701 alumni Max Richter, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka. He had this to say;
"This mixtape is an exploration of stylistic, emotional and cultural boundaries that are associated with different kinds of sounds/instruments/tonal structures. Also, it’s a journey through the music that excites me and I would like to share it with you because I think that these gems deserve to be heard by more people."

Blackdown - Those Moments
VMO$ & Boofy - May
Pinch - Walking With Shadows
Biome - Trench Foot
Walton - Huangdi
RUDEBOYZ - Major Turn Up
Pinch & Mumdance - Double Barrel Mitzi Turbo
Rabit - Black Dragons ft Riko (O$VMV$M Version)
RUDEBOYZ - Bounce Back
Pinch - Screamer ft Riko (VIP2)
Lamont - Dope
Commodo - Str8 Reptilian VIP
Pangaea - Hex
Ishan Sound x Hodge - C4
Sully - Bullseye ft Jamakabi
Lowquid - Death Note (Ebb Remix)
Fraxinus - Stone Drums
Walton - Koto Riddim
shan Sound - Colours
Pinch - The Boxer (Kromestar's Southpaw Mix)
Compa - Not A Kick
LEVELZ - Front Face
Commodo - Rikers
The Bug - Bad ft Flowdan
Samba - Kami
DJ Sinclair - Vexed Remake
SP:MC - R1
Boofy - Ledge
Pinch - Grump
Rocks FOE - Downpour
Masakatsu Takagi - First Echo
Mark Isham - Sympathy and Acknowledgement
8m² stereo - 5.12
Holden - Self-Playing Schmaltz
Westhoff - Sonata For Violin And Continuo III
Dmitry Evgrafov - Wandering
The Dave Brubeck Quartet - Koto Song
Kronos Quartet & Asha Bhosle - Rishte Bante Hain (Relationships Grow Slowly)
Biosphere - As The Sun Kissed The Horizon
Benoît Pioulard - Pidgin
Gogo Penguin - To Drown in You
Dmitry Evgrafov - Old Unity
Mark Pritchard - Dawn Of The North
Lera Auerbach - 24 Preludes for Vioin and Piano. No. 15 in C sharp major. Adagio
The Westerlies - Saro
Michael Praetorius, Jan Sandström - Es ist ein Ros entsprungen
Abul Mogard - Half Light of Dawn
ActThree - OverworldRadioStationTwo
Boards of Canada - Everything You Do is a Balloon
Laurie Spiegel - The Unquestioned Answer
Francis and the Lights - Off Switch
Francis and the Lights - Gardening
Masakatsu Takagi - Tender Smile